Delicious Bookmark this
on Delicious





On This Page:



The Gurig National Park is located on the Cobourg Peninsula that reaches out into the Arafura Sea 570 km north east of Darwin. It protects an area of 2 200 square kilometres.

Access to Gurig National Park is via Arnhem Land and therefore travel permits are required for travelling in the area. Only 15 vehicles are allowed to travel the road in at any one time so bookings ahead of time are advisable. The Arnhem Highway is followed through Kakadu National Park and Arnhem Land. This is a dry season destination only, with the road closed during the wet.

Arnhem Land is entered via Cahill's Crossing, where the road becomes a dirt road until Gurig National Park is reached, some 266km further on. This section of the drive is 4WD only.




The entry and camp fee for 7 days is $211 per vehicle (2003).


Smith Point:

Smith Point is the only place where camping is allowed in the national park. There are tables, BBQs, toilets and cold showers provided.



Victoria Settlement:

Victoria Settlement was is the site of the failed first European settlement in the Northern Territory. All that remains of the settlement are a few ruins.





Kevin's Wilderness Journeys Homepage
Northern Territory
Top Of Page